Ted Hendricks, Ed Reed selected to the Football Writers Association of America 75th Anniv All-America Team

Former Defensive End, Ted Hendricks and Safety, Ed Reed were the 2 Miami Hurricanes selected to the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) 75th Anniversary All-America Team announced Thursday.

Ted Hendricks made First Team and Ed Reed made Second Team – Hendricks a two-time All-American (1967 & 1968) at Miami, eventually converted to Linebacker (under Don Shula) in the NFL, where he was later elected into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1990. Reed, a future Pro Football Hall of Famer, was a two-time All-American (2000 & 2001) and won a National Championship (2001) with the Hurricanes, in addition, he won a NFL Super Bowl (XLVII) with the Baltimore Ravens (where he holds the franchise record for interceptions).

Combined with Miami’s 2 selections, the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) had a combined 15 former All-American players selected, making it the second highest total out of any conference (behind the Big 10 with 19 selections). Pittsburgh led all ACC schools with five selections, followed by Florida State with 3 selections, and then, Miami coming in at third with the 2 selections.

“A nomination ballot with selected players from all FWAA All-America teams was sent to the entire membership this spring. The popular vote was then taken into consideration by a Blue Ribbon Committee of FWAA past presidents, current board members and officers. That committee put the finishing touches on selecting the 75-man team. In order for a player to be considered for the FWAA’s 75th Anniversary team, he was required to be on a previous FWAA All-America team,” according to a Press Release sent out by the ACC. “The FWAA, which was founded in 1941, has picked an annual All-America team since the 1944 season, making it the second longest continuously selected team in major college football.”

Bookmark and Share
blog comments powered by Disqus