Vinny Testaverde highlights college HOF ballot

Four Heisman Trophy winners highlight the 77 candidates and five coaches on this year’s College Football Hall of Fame Ballot released Tuesday afternoon.

Former Miami quarterback Vinny Testaverde and former Florida quarterback Danny Wuerffel joined former Wisconsin running back Ron Dayne and former Nebraska quarterback Eric Couch as past winners of the Heisman Trophy who are up for selection into the HOF.

Some other notable names on the ballot are former Miami defensive tackle Jerome Brown, former UNLV punter Randall Cunningham, former SMU running back Eric Dickerson and former Oklahoma linebacker Brian Bosworth.

On the coaching side, Jim Carlen (WVU, Texas Tech, South Carolina); Wayne Hardin (Navy, Temple); Bill McCartney (Colorado); Billy Jack Murphy (Memphis) and Darryl Rogers (Cal State Hayward, Fresno State, San Jose State, Michigan State and Arizona State).

The Hall of Fame class will be announced live in New York City during a noon press conference on May 7. The group will be inducted at an awards dinner on Dec. 10, 2013 in New York City.

To qualify for the HOF ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-America and played their last season of college football at least 10 years prior and cannot currently be playing professional football. For coaches, candidates must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach.
They must have also won at least 60 percent of their games and retired within at least three years prior to making the list.

Bookmark and Share
blog comments powered by Disqus