Jerome Brown and Ray Lewis are on the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot

On Tuesday, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame announced the names on the 2016 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. Among the 76 players on the ballot, two are former Miami Hurricanes.

Former Canes Jerome Brown and Ray Lewis both have a chance to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. The announcement of the 2016 class will be made on Friday, Jan. 8, 2016, at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn, the weekend before the 2016 College Football National Championship game in Glendale, Arizona.

Other notable names that will be on the 2016 ballot include 2004 Heisman Trophy Winner Matt Leinart, two-time Florida State All-American Derrick Brooks and former Georgia offensive lineman Matt Stinchcomb.

Brown, defensive tackle for the Hurricanes from 1983-1986, led the club to four straight New Year’s Day bowl games. As a senior, Brown was a unanimous First Team All-American and finalist for both the Outland and Lombardi trophies. He currently ranks 10th in Miami school history with 21 career sacks.

Lewis played for Miami from 1993-1995. He was a two-time First-Team All-American (1994, 1995) at linebacker and was a Butkus Award runner-up as a junior.

Lewis helped the Canes to a Fiesta Bowl and Orange Bowl apperance while he was at Coral Gables. He ranks sixth all-time at Miami in tackles with 388.

Ten former Hurricane players or coaches have been voted into the College Football Hall of Fame: Jack Harding (1980), Andy Gustafson (1985), Ted Hendricks (1987),  Don Bosseler (1990), Bennie Blades (2006), Gino Torretta (2009), Arnold Tucker (2008), Russell Maryland (2011), Jimmy Johnson (2012) and Vinny Testaverde (2013).

Bookmark and Share

blog comments powered by Disqus