No Gold Glove for Ryan Braun

The Milwaukee Brewers' Gold Glove-less streak continues.

Leftfielder Ryan Braun had a shot at becoming the first Brewers player since Robin Yount in 1982 to earn a Rawlings Gold Glove Award on Tuesday night, but he was beaten by Gerardo Parra of Arizona.

For the first time, Gold Gloves were awarded to outfielders in left, center and right rather than to the top three outfielders overall regardless of position. Previously, centerfielders often would claim all three Gold Gloves.

This season, Braun committed just one error in 150 games (1,250 innings) in left to lead the NL in fielding percentage at the position. His eight assists ranked second behind Parra's 12.

Parra committed two errors in 125 games (1,018 innings).

Nine Brewers have won Gold Gloves previously.

Braun is next in line for his fourth consecutive Louisville Slugger Silver Slugger Award, which would be a franchise record. The winners will be announced at 5 p.m. Wednesday on MLB Network.

Bookmark and Share
blog comments powered by Disqus